Dallas Mavericks

NBA Team

The Dallas Mavericks is a basketball franchise of the National Basketball Association located in Dallas, Texas. The franchise was founded in 1980, and its current owner is billionaire Mark Cuban. The colors of his uniform are dark blue, white, blue and green. He won his first NBA title in the 2010-2011 season, five years after being runner-up – in both finals against the Miami Heat.

The biggest player in his history is Germany’s Dirk Nowitzki, who still owns the team.

The team is the third-most-valued NBA (or more expensive) franchise, worth an estimated $ 463 million, second only to the New York Knicks and the Los Angeles Lakers, according to Forbes.

History of Dallas Mavericks

In 1979, entrepreneurs Don Carter and Norm Sonju asked for the rights of an NBA franchise in Dallas, Texas. The last basketball team in the city had been the Dallas Chaparrals of the American Basketball Association, which in 1973 went to San Antonio to be renamed San Antonio Spurs. In the All-Star Game of 1980, the association approved the entry of the team, which would be christened Mavericks as a quote to the series of Western Mavericks (whose star, James Garner, was one of the team’s partners). The team settled in the Midwest Division of the Western Conference, where it would remain until 2004, to be relocated in the current Southwest Division.

During most of the 1980s, the Mavericks were a competitive team with Mark Aguirre, Brad Davis (who joined the team in his creation and is one of the retired figures), Roland Blackman, Derek Harper, Sam Perkins and Detlef Schrempf. The team reached the playoffs six times between 1983 and 1990, winning the Division in 1986-87 and reaching the Western finals in 1987-88, but being eliminated on three occasions by the Los Angeles Lakers of Magic Johnson and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar.

In the 1990s, the team fell into decline, reaching negative results of 11-71 in 1992-93 and 13-69 in 1993-94. Problems included Roy Tarpley’s drug abuse and clashes with coach Quinn Buckner. But between 1994 and 1997, the team revealed three talented players, Jamal Mashburn, Jim Jackson, and Jason Kidd, who would be elected rookie of the year.

In the 2000s, after being bought by billionaire Mark Cuban, the Mavericks once again became a force, initially led by trio Dirk Nowitzki, Michael Finley and Steve Nash. They returned to the playoffs in 2001, and reached the conference finals in 2003 (on both occasions losing to the San Antonio Spurs). The trio unraveled with Nash going to the Phoenix Suns and Finley to the Spurs, but Nowitzki became the team leader, winning the West in 2006 to reach his first NBA final. But even winning the first two games against the Miami Heat, the Florida team won the next four and took the series.

The following season, the Mavs got their best result in history (67 wins) and season, with Nowitzki being voted best player of the tournament. But in the playoffs they fell to the 8th best of the West, the Golden State Warriors. In 2008, Kidd returned to the team, and new coach Rick Carlisle would lead the team in winning campaigns.

In 2010, the Mavericks still had Nowitzki, Kidd and Jason Terry, as well as a good bank with Shawn Marion, Tyson Chandler, J.J. Barea and Caron Butler. That team returned to the NBA Finals after winning 57 games in the regular season, eliminating the Portland Trail Blazers (4-2), then Los Angeles Lakers (4-0) and Oklahoma City Thunder (4-1) at the Conference West. The opponent again was the Miami Heat. Despite losing the first game of the series, the Mavericks won by 4-2 and won their first title after 31 years, with Nowitzki being voted best player of the finals.